At the end of last week, I was invited for a drink or few at the newly refurbished bar/tabac in nearby Port de Couze.

(It’s just next to the organic local produce shop and is run by the woman who created the “La Petite Cuillere” café in Lalinde, across the street from the wine shop. She’s done a great job – again – and I’d recommend a visit. There’s good beer and wine, board games and tasteful decor. But that’s not what this post is about.)

I saw a few familiar faces, but I prefer meeting new people and fell into conversation with Les. It turns out, the soirée in the bar was all about him – to raise awareness of his upcoming charity bike ride. None of this John o’ Groats to Land’s End rubbish – he’s cycling the length of Europe, from Gibraltar to Nordkapp. On his own. Not bad for a 60-something ex-graphic designer, a few years after having heart surgery.

He’s leaving Gibraltar on April 26th and doing this:

TTTT-Map

If that’s not worth a mention on this blog – and an inbound link to his site (toptotoetour.com) – I don’t know what is. If I had any money, I’d help him reach his £65,000 target. But, as regular readers will know, I don’t. So instead, I’ll encourage you to part with some of the folding stuff and follow him. (If you’re rich, it’s probably tax deductible. If you’re very rich, what are you doing holding onto all of that cash? Please feed it back into the economy so other people don’t have to worry so much. Honestly.)

