The breadmaking post seems to have revealed an appetite for recipes on this blog. So today I thought I’d have a crack at making a biggish waffle. (Again, this is something Her Outdoors usually does, which meant she was the perfect person to teach me – with the “Joy of Cooking” book on hand for reference).

1) First I put 1.75 cups of white flour in a Biggish Mixing Bowl (BMB) with 2 level teaspoons of baking powder and 1 tablespoon of sugar, and mixed them together.

2) I separated three biggish eggs and beat the yolks with 1.5 cups of milk (using a fork), until it looked like this:


3) I added the yolky mix to the BMB and mixed it all together until it was “not too lumpy”, like this:


4) Her Outdoors melted a couple of tablespoons of salted butter in our griddle pan over a high heat (thereby cheating me of taking credit for the whole thing) which she (!) poured into the BMB:


5) The egg whites were whisked (by both of us – with a whisk) until “stiff but not dry”, which looks like this:


6) This egg white fluff was then folded into the BMB with a biggish spoon until it looked like this:


7) With the butter-covered griddle pan back on a medium heat, I emptied the BMB into it (thereby regaining control of the situation):

8) I then waited for many minutes until the middle of the almost-waffle didn’t move when the pan was tilted.


9) Then I flipped the almost-waffle, only spilling a bit on the pan and cooker.


10) Her Outdoors then turned the heat down a little (argh) until the waffle was cooked through, which only took a couple of minutes.

11) I (yay) then slid the waffle onto a chopping board and took a surprisingly anaemic-looking photograph.


A biggish waffle like this is a pretty cheap and really tasty way to feed a family of four and have some left over for the chickens. It was excellent with butter and maple syrup, although a couple of rashers of crispy smoked streaky bacon would have made it even better.

Coming soon… Her Outdoors wielding a chainsaw.

