Today has not been the Best of Days.

I’m not talking about the waking up at five in the morning for an hour and a half, knowing I’ll fall asleep again only just in time for the alarm to go off.

Nor am I talking about the text I got from Her Outdoors saying she’d just left Boy crying at the childminder’s (we’ve employed someone – amazing what you can do in France on minimum wage), and the cats crying at the vet’s (where they’ve been efeminated, much to the chagrin of the vet, who’d rather they were left to produce kittens that can be drowned as is the way in These Parts – more on that, later).

Or even the fact that the tractor is now Officially Broken Down.

I’m talking about how my the very small commission associated with my job has created some very large resentment among other Team Members (I love that quote from THE OFFICE I saw on a colleague’s wall a few years ago: “There’s no ‘I’ in team, but there’s a ‘Me’ if you look hard enough”) after I lucked out a few times yesterday – and now people think I am a Cheat or a Thief or Both (much more on this sooner).

But as I’ve said before not here: “As one door opens, another one shuts.”

I came back from my mowing-free evening to cook the best Steak I have eaten in France so far. The mushroom sauce wasn’t too shabby. The wine’s always good. The French fries were a bit limp. But the company was wonderful.

And it’s not over yet – dailylola has posted another episode of Grey’s Anatomy for Me and She to watch on youtube.

